Salt Intake and High Blood Pressure

Geri K

I just wanted to comment on salt intake. I did my master’s degree thesis on the effects of salt intake and high blood pressure. Most past studies and even some today suggest that too much salt makes your blood pressure rise. I was convinced that this was true also and that’s why I wanted to do my thesis on it. To my surprise, after months of investigation into how bad salt is for your blood pressure I was astonished to find that newest studies from major sources show that there is no correlation between salt intake and high blood pressure. For about a year I ate a low salt diet and then decided not to do it anymore. My blood pressure readings stayed the same for the low salt year and the regular salt usage year. I still do not use table salt though, I use salt substitute. I am not saying that you don’t have to watch how much salt you eat but rather that salt should be used in moderation unless your doctor tells you otherwise. We need salt to regulate the fluids in our bodies so too little salt can be bad for you also.

During a few of my pregnancies, my blood pressure went up and I had to do a no salt diet. Some doctors still recommend lower sodium intake. Different studies will yield different results unfortunately. It may be more beneficial for one person to restrict salt intake versus another, too. The most important thing is to find out what is best for you as an individual and go with it. I definitely would limit the amount of processed foods eaten if possible. I am sure the average American probably consumes way too much salt through these avenues alone!

I rarely add salt to my cooking, but do use some seasonings that may have some added salt. I love to use Mrs. Dash in place of salt to add flavor to many different dishes.